Kings (2009)

  • Sebastian as: Jack Benjamin
  • Role Type: Series Regular
  • Premiere Date: March 15h, 2009
  • Show Creator: Michael Green
  • Run Time: 60 minutes
  • Selected Cast: Ian McShane, Christopher Egan, Susanna Thompson, Allison Miller, Eamonn Walker, Dylan Baker, Marlyne Barrett

About The Show

King Silas Benjamin came to power in a mythical battle against the rival neighbor republic of Gath, capitalizing brilliantly and ruthlessly on his near-godly image. Farm-boy David Shepherd performs as well, saving Silas’s crown prince in another epic battle, but is too noble and naive to aspire personal benefit rather then devoutly serve king and country. Nevertheless, after Silas decides to abuse David’s legend, the hero is drawn into palace intrigues culminating into coup plans against Silas.

Production Images

  |   Visit the gallery for more related photos

Episode Guide

Mar 15, 2009 1×01: Goliath: Part One

King Silas Benjamin of Gilboa, a city untouched by time, must deal with the rising tensions between his nation and the neighboring nation of Gath. After prisoners of war are taken, David Shepherd, a young soldier, risks everything to save them.

Mar 15, 2009 1×02: Goliath: Part Two

David is forced to stay in Shiloh after his heroic gesture saving the King’s son.
Totally by surprise, Gath offers truce. Silas wants to accept but William, his brother in law, wants the war to go on for another two years. He threatens Silas that if he accepts the peace offering, his company will pull out and demand the reimbursement of all the loans, effectively bankrupting the country.

Mar 22, 2009 1×03: Prosperity

The King of Garth and his entourage arrive in Shiloh to sign the peace treaty but conflicts immediately surface. David weighs his decision to remain in Shiloh while Silas considers his assassination. David becomes embroiled in the treaty tensions and his impulsiveness risks both the treaty and his life.

Mar 29, 2009 1×04: First Night

Queen Rose proves to be quite the manipulator, especially where her family is concerned, when she arranges for David to be ejected from a state affair and out of her daughter’s reach. Since David now has the evening free, Price Jack takes him for a night on the town which leads to some awkward and compromising situations. King Silas attempts to divine God’s will to save his beloved but deathly ill, illegitimate second son.

Apr 5, 2009 1×05: Insurrection

When King Silas expands the territory to be transferred to Gath in the peace settlement David’s family is caught in no man’s land. David becomes embroiled in the conflict as tensions boil over and David must choose between loyalty to king or family.

Apr 18, 2009 1×06: Judgment Day

Each year on “Judgement Day” King Silas hears the appeals of 10 legal cases and his judgment is the final authority. But events are not so straight forward in Shiloh politics as young Prince Jack, insecure about his future, seizes the opportunity to practice his own political intrigues to favor his ambitions.

June 13, 2009 1×07: Brotherhood

Tensions between David and Prince Jack resurface at the worst possible time, while on a clandestine commando mission in Gath. Princess Michelle’s compassion gets the better of her as she exposes herself to a deadly plague to comfort a dying child. The plague proves to be an omen that continues Silas’s reconciliation with God and Reverend Samuels and ultimately exposes a dangerous usurper.

June 20, 2009 1×08: The Sabbath Queen

David and Princess Michelle take advantage of a power outage for some time alone but foolishly record their transgressions. Michelle reveals the secret of her betrothal.

June 27, 2009 1×09: Pilgrimage

Evidence of Jack’s homosexuality and David’s photos of Princess Michelle fall into the wrong hands leading to a series of deals ranging from the purely financial to hard-nosed blackmail.

July 4, 2009 1×10: Chapter One

In retaliation for his indiscretions King Silas sends David on a dangerous mission to recover a stolen national treasure. But the experience become a turning point for David. Prince Jack’s wedding plans change suddenly and drastically as Queen Rose intervenes.

July 11, 2009 1×11: Javelin

Silas hands the treason trial of David over to Jack. Elsewhere, Michelle’s medical problems seems to be bringing her closer to her mother.

July 18, 2009 1×12: The New King: Part One

With Jack and David jailed for treason, Silas continues with his plot to relinquish Port Prosperity to Gath. Meanwhile, Michelle searches for a way to set David free.

July 25, 2009 1×13: The New King: Part Two

The series finale finds Jack preparing to take over the throne. However, when Silas shows up alive, David rushes to warn him about the plot against him.